gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » Please Identify
Please Identify 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:11 am Reply with quote
chewy267
Hello all. I'm new to the Gitane family. A couple of years ago I was given 80% of a racer. It sat out in the back yard for 2 years before I was inspired by a friend who had lost a heap of weight by riding to work, to start riding again. So I got the parts needed to make it rideable. Seat, seat post, chain front and rear derailier, and re greased all the bits. I didn't even know what a Gitane was! It rides better than my old Peugeot.

After looking through this forum I'm once again inspired to restore this bike. From what I've seen you guys have done fantastic jobs.

Going by the catalogue I think it might be an 80 or 81 model Sprint. Is there anyone that can confirm?

According to the catalogue it has a Reynolds 531 frame, how do I confirm this? However this particular sticker throws me off. Has anyone seen it before, or if you have a pic of what it's suppoed to look like, could you please post.

Wheel hubs are getting a bit tired as there is a small amount of pitting on them.

The cranks are 170mm

At the moment I'm trying to sorce the same decals so I can powder coat. Any help on any of the above will be greatly appreciated.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:57 am Reply with quote
sandranian
Site Admin
Appears to be a circa 1981 "Sprint". Very nice bicycle. I would recommend against powder coating it, though. Not a very flattering finish for a bicycle...specially one with lugs.

That frameset is not Reynolds 531...it is built from Vitus 888 tubing. Here is some more information about Vitus, including a link to a brief history of the company:
http://www.classicrendezvous.com/France/Ateliers-dela_%20Rive.htm

I am trying to find a good picture of that decal, which appears to be different than the standard later version.

Welcomen