gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » New Gitane owner and poster in need of advice....
New Gitane owner and poster in need of advice.... 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 5:15 am Reply with quote
PLS
Hi guys! To start with let me say I am not typical on this forum.... I am a 55 year old female who started riding bikes last year after getting laid off to lose weight and have something to do, but along the way I caught the bike bug. Not having much money I got into used bikes and started looking for an oldie but goodie to build up when I clicked on a Craig list posting stating "!970's vintage French road bike" and literally fell in love at first sight. Luckily the Gitane Grand Sport Deluxe was more or less my size, as I can stand over the top tube, although I don't have an inch clearance. Being female that didn't bother me much, and when I started riding this spring I fell in love with riding all over again, as I just love riding this bike. She is so comfortable, just a joy to ride.

Along the way she has become a true "Frankenbike" as components failed, but she probably was anyway, as someone had replaced her drop bars early on with bars that sweep back and up. That's in fact why I was so interested to start with because I never found drop bars comfortable in my youth. All other parts were original, and I have kept them needless to say. I know you guys like pictures, I am not good at that stuff but do have some pictures on my email I could forward for someone else to post, if someone wants to do that.