gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » I want to improve this Interclub...
I want to improve this Interclub... 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 4:17 pm Reply with quote
teebo
Got this a week ago. It is in good shape, not mint by any means; a nice utilitarian '84 Interclub 12 speed.
It has original Mavic Module >>E<< rims, Guidron(?) bars, Stronglight cranks with 52/42 rings, and Simplex front derailleur.
The previous owner added a Sora real derailleur and Serfas Seca RS FPS tires. And funky Suntour XC-II
pedals.
I put on the cage and lock bracket and am going to replace the Weinmann brakes; they won't stay centered and would rather have dual pivots.
I would like to put on a chromed fork, but don't know where to find one.
I am new to Gitanes, and would appreciate any help I can get.
I really like the bike, it is slightly big for me; I am 6'2" and the stand over height is 35"... kinda tight but acceptable..
Thanks
T

[/img]
Nice bike 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:10 pm Reply with quote
verktyg
Welcome to the forum. Nice bike.

First question, why do you want a chrome fork? You can probably still find a chrome plated Tange fork made with chrome moly alloy tubing but... An unmatched fork on a frame this size can drastically alter the handling. Additionally you might have to replace the headset to get the fork to fit properly.

The Interclub was designed as a club or entry level racing model. The fork has a 40mm (1 .5") rake which is fairly short to work with the 73° head tube angle. Replacement forks will probably have a longer rake plus they may change the head tube angle due to the overall length. Big bikes get real squirrelly when you mess with the front end geometry! Shocked

http://www.gitaneusa.com/images/catalog/1984/Page_02-b.jpg

Dual pivot brakes with definitely improve the stopping power over the old Weinmann sidepulls. The brake pads on some brands are better than others.